• CALL US NOW!1-888-321-3975

Read the Tour Reviews of our Past Guests!

We only post testimonials from guests who grant us permission to:

Icons

Be contacted by potential guests

Icons

Publish their full names and location

Icons

Show at least one close-up picture of themselves during the trip

Icons

Display their booked itinerary

No other company will offer you a list of 150 guests who you can choose from to contact.

Our guests have had superb travel experiences. You have below 150 guests to contact and check out firsthand what they have to say about our Worry-Free & First-Class services!

Need more inspiration? You can also see more than 520 trip photos provided by our guests

Sally Barksdale & Friends

(South Orange, New Jersey, United States)

"There are not enough words to describe the services we have been provided by Fred and his team."

"Everything was perfect and couldn’t ask for anything more than what was provided to us. Fred has provided more than top notch service and we never had to worry about anything."

"All the details were taken care of and the response time has been extremely fast."

"The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly and accommodating."

Sally visited: Buenos Aires, Iguazu Falls, Mendoza and El Calafate on October 2019.
This was their first trip to Argentina.

TRIP REVIEW OF SALLY BARKSDALE & FRIENDS

"There are not enough words to describe the services we have been provided by Fred and his team. Everything was perfect and couldn’t ask for anything more than what was provided to us. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly and accommodating.

Fred has provided more than top notch service and we never had to worry about anything. All the details were taken care of and the response time has been extremely fast. We had a flight delay and Fred was aware of it and made the proper adjustments where necessary.

We have traveled on numerous occasions with different tour companies. Exploration Journeys have by far surpassed our expectations."

Close full testimonial

SALLY'S BOOKED TRIP ITINERARY

Buenos Aires

DAY 1: YOU ARRIVE IN BUENOS AIRES

(staying for 1 night, with 1 tour included)

Flight arrival in Buenos Aires, Argentina!

Welcome at the airport and transfer with private vehicle and guide to your hotel.

Images of Buenos Aires: European Heritage and Latin American Passion (private tour)

Buenos Aires has been chosen for 3 consecutive years (2014, 2015 and 2016) as the #1 destination to visit in South America by millions of TripAdvisor users in their “Traveler’s Choice” contest... and rightfully so! This cosmopolitan, vibrant, and sophisticated city, commonly called the “Paris of Latin America,” is the best place in the world to enjoy a first-class tango show and to eat some of the tastiest steak, accompanied by celebrated Argentine Malbec wine.

Our expert “porteño” (as locals are called) guide will take you on a cultural journey, where you’ll visit the most iconic neighborhoods and learn about the highlights of the city; taking in its architecture, culture, history, and more! This tour is also a great opportunity to learn from your expert tour guide, the necessary information and useful tips to make the most of your free time in the city.

This is a private 4-hour tour.

DAY 2: LAST DAY IN BUENOS AIRES

Transfer in private vehicle to Buenos Aires Airport.

Iguazu Falls

DAY 2: YOU ARRIVE IN IGUAZU

(staying for 2 nights, with 4 tours included)

Flight arrival in Iguazu.

Depending on your flight arrival time you will have time to go first to your hotel or you will be taken directly to your tour and then to your hotel.

Behold the Breathtaking Panoramic Views of Iguazu Falls from the Brazilian Side (private tour)

With 80% of the falls located on the Argentine side, it is only from the Brazilian side that one can see almost all of them at once, in full, breathtakingly panoramic views.

The Brazilian side offers majestic scenic views of the beauty and entirety of the falls; this is because the Brazilian footbridge lies across the river from the falls, offering a unique perspective and epic scenic views, making the Brazilian side different and absolutely complementary to the experience from the Argentinean side.

This is a half-day private tour.

Walking Among Exotic Birds in the Iguazu Rainforest

You’re about to enter a one-of-a-kind bird sanctuary! Here you’ll find the largest colony of toucans on display in the world, as well as the largest colony of parrots on display in South America, along with 150 different bird species from Brazil and all over the world, many of them endangered.

Located in the midst of the lush tropical rainforest, Foz Tropicana Bird Park is an internationally-recognized rescue and preservation center for endangered birds; and it’s among the most important ones in South America. You’ll find yourself side by side a myriad of exotic birds, in the three walk-in aviaries, where you’ll have the opportunity to have an up-close and personal experience with amazingly colorful parrots and Toco Toucans, among many other birds… all of them right next to you or even flying over your head!

In addition to the diversity and beauty of the birds you’ll see, the park itself presents itself as a unique location. It covers nearly 40 acres (16 hectares) of rainforest, so you’re quite literally going to find yourself in the middle of nature as you make your way along the trails!

This visit lasts about 2 hours and is done on the same day you do the Brazilian side of the falls tour.

DAY 3: IGUAZU

Witness the Unique Power & Might of the Iguazu Falls from the Argentine Side (private tour)

“You might have seen the photos. Even read about it. You might have visited other great waterfalls before. But you probably still have no idea what to expect when you come face to face with the almighty Iguazu Falls,” stated CNN in their article “Iguazu Falls: Why this natural wonder should be on everyone’s bucket list". To put that into perspective, Iguazu Falls is nearly twice as tall as Niagara Falls and nearly three times as wide. The late U.S. First Lady, Eleanor Roosevelt, was reportedly so impressed by the sight of Iguazu Falls that she exclaimed “Poor Niagara!”

In 1984, Iguazu Falls became a UNESCO World Heritage Site; and in 2011, it was selected as one of the 7 winners of the “New Seven Wonders of Nature” worldwide competition in which more than 100 million votes were cast.

Their size and scale are unlike any other waterfall on Earth. Made up of a system of 275 waterfalls, they have a staggering water flow of up to almost 3.5 million gallons (13 million liters) per second – enough to fill five Olympic swimming pools!

Unlike Niagara Falls, which is surrounded by developments such as casinos, a revolving restaurant, and coffee shops, Iguazu Falls are located within one of the few remaining inland rainforests in South America, the Atlantic rainforest, which is a haven for more than 2,000 plant species, about 400 birds species, and 80 types of mammals!

This is a full-day private tour.

A Speedboat Adventure Up-Close the Iguazu Falls

Get ready for a fantastic speedboat adventure, enjoying a unique, up-close perspective of the majestic Iguazu Falls. This tour experience makes for a different point of view from what you will have seen from the panoramic boardwalks. Our speedboat will zip the waters of the Iguazu River, and approach the falls, getting right inside the mist formed by their thunderous splash!

You’ll be thoroughly splashed by the mist of the falls, as you take in the water’s imposing roar. This ride provides a unique and extremely close-up view of the San Martin and Three Musketeers falls. The high point of this experience will be without a doubt, being showered under the mist of the San Martin Falls; the second strongest falls in the Iguazu system. Now it’s time to hop on board and begin our waterfall adventure!

This is a 12-minute group tour and is done on the same day you do the Argentinean side of the falls tour. This tour has an age restriction (click on tour name above for details).

DAY 4: LAST DAY IN IGUAZU

Transfer with private vehicle to Iguazu airport.

You will take a flight to Buenos Aires and from there you will take another flight to Mendoza.
Mendoza

DAY 4: YOU ARRIVE IN MENDOZA

(staying for 2 nights, with 1 tour included)

Flight arrival in Mendoza. Welcome at airport and private transfer to your hotel.

Depending on your arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 5: MENDOZA

Enjoying First-class Wines in Mendoza’s Central Region (private tour)

Over the past 20 years, there has been a revolution in the Argentine wine industry, driven partly by the success of one grape that, in many countries, is used only for mixing – the rich, velvety Malbec. Dense and dark, with full-body richness that few other grapes can mimic, the Argentine Malbec varietal has become all the rage in the United States, and is increasing in popularity among other countries as well. 94% of restaurants in the top ten wine markets in the US feature Malbec on their wine lists, according to a 2010 survey on Wine Spectator magazine.

Enjoy an exclusive wine tasting experience as you take in the taste of first-class Argentine wines, and visit some of the most prestigious wineries in Mendoza. Located at the foothills of the Andes mountain range, in the shadow of Mount Aconcagua, the vineyards in Mendoza are planted at some of the highest altitudes in the world; with the average site located anywhere between 2000 and 3600 feet (600 to 1100 meters) above sea level This allows winemakers to plant at exactly the right altitude for each grape variety to ripen perfectly. Argentina is the fifth wine producer in the world, and with over a thousand active wineries accounting for more than 70% of Argentina’s wine production, Mendoza is considered the heart of the Argentine winemaking industry.

Guided by a local oenologist (wine expert), you’ll enjoy touring the facilities of three wineries, while getting a close-up look at the process of wine-making, and of course tasting their wines.

This is a full-day private tour and includes gourmet lunch with wine tasting at a Mendoza winery.

DAY 6: LAST DAY IN MENDOZA

Private transfer to Mendoza airport to take your flight.

You will take a flight to Buenos Aires and from there you will take another flight to El Calafate.
El Calafate

DAY 6: YOU ARRIVE IN EL CALAFATE

(staying for 2 nights, with 3 tours included)

Flight arrival in El Calafate. Welcome at airport and private transfer to your hotel.

Depending on your arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 7: EL CALAFATE

Conquering the Mighty Perito Moreno Glacier (private tour - except for the glacier trekking portion)

Discover your inner adventurer as you explore and conquer one of the world’s most awe-inspiring and unique glaciers: The Perito Moreno. This splendid ice giant showcases its mighty glory in the Patagonian Glaciers National Park, which has been declared Mankind’s Natural Heritage site by UNESCO. The park’s vast size not only gives it the distinction of being the largest ice mantle in the world after Antarctica, but also that of being the third largest fresh water reserve on the planet.

Now, picture yourself strapping on your ice spikes, as you begin trekking along this ice giant on a full-day discovery journey along one of the few glaciers in the world which is actually growing and advancing.

Your full-day of adventure will include a close-up navigation of the Perito Moreno Glacier and a visit to the seven panoramic balconies facing the front of the glacier where you’ll have amazing picture-taking opportunities. After an adventure-packed day, you’ll be able to rest with the satisfaction of having successfully conquered the mighty Perito Moreno!

This is a full-day private tour (except the glacier trekking part which is done on group basis) and has an age restriction (click on tour name above for details).

Seven Panoramic Boardwalks of the Mighty Perito Moreno Glacier (private tour)

Prepare to visit one of the world’s most awe-inspiring and unique glaciers: The Perito Moreno. This bright white ice giant showcases its mighty glory in the Patagonian Glaciers National Park, which has been declared Mankind’s Natural Heritage site by UNESCO. The park’s vast size not only gives it the distinction of being the largest ice mantle in the world, after Antarctica, but also the third largest fresh water reserve on the planet.

The Perito Moreno is of the few glaciers in the world actually growing and advancing, as opposed to the majority of the world’s glaciers, which are retreating and melting due to the effects of global warming. The ice that serenely sits above the water measures an impressive 262 feet (80 meters), which is just about the height of a 25-story building! And while that’s an incredibly large size for the human eye to take in, consider that this measurement is only 15% of the glacier’s total height. Five times more ice is hidden underwater.

Our destination is the panoramic boardwalks which overlook the Perito Moreno Glacier. Here, amidst the backdrop of the majestic, snow-capped Andes, you’ll find yourself immersed in an unforgettable glacier experience, while enjoy amazing picture-taking opportunities from the seven panoramic balconies facing the front of the glacier.

While the glacier itself is definitely the main attraction, the park also boasts remarkable scenery as well as glacial streams, small lagoons, crevasses, gullies, and plenty of ice formations that’ll dazzle the eye, surrounded by the scenic beauty of the Andes Mountain range, lakes and forest areas.

This is a full-day private tour.

The Mighty Perito Moreno Glacier Close-up Navigation Experience

Take in the sheer size and beauty of the Perito Moreno Glacier as it towers before you, from an exciting close-up perspective, as we cruise across the pristine waters of the Rico Branch of the Argentino Lake, which borders the Southern wall of the Perito Moreno Glacier.

The sheer magnitude of the southern wall alone is a humbling and inspiring sight. We’ll be stopping about 985 feet (300 meters) away from the southern wall of the glacier for some epic picture-taking opportunities that will showcase the grand scale and beauty of the glacier.

This will be definitely a different perspective from what you experience on the panoramic boardwalks.

This navigation is a 1-hour group tour done on the same day you do the Perito Moreno Glacier tour.

DAY 8: LAST DAY IN EL CALAFATE

Transfer in private vehicle to El Calafate airport.

Buenos Aires

DAY 8: YOU ARRIVE IN BUENOS AIRES

(staying for 1 night, with 2 tours included)

Arrival in Buenos Aires and transfer to your hotel in private vehicle.

Passion and Beauty: an Authentic World-class Tango Experience

You are cordially invited to an evening of live music filled with passion, sensuality and dancing, at one of the best Tango venues in Buenos Aires: La Ventana. Located at the heart of the historic San Telmo neighborhood, you’ll enjoy a world-class Tango show in a restored tenement building (or, ‘conventillo’). This enchanting show also boasts unique features of Argentine folklore.

As you step through the doors, you’ll feel as though you have traveled back in time, with the interior of the building preserved in its original style. The show at La Ventana is a journey through the history of Tango, in which you’ll experience different and authentic styles of this mesmerizing dance, each with its own particular set of music, dancing style, and costumes.

Tango is a universe onto itself as it creates a multi-layered marriage of music, dance, singing and poetry.

This tour includes group transfers and dinner with non-alcoholic beverages & wine.

DAY 9: BUENOS AIRES

An Off-the-beaten-path Journey to Buenos Aires' Unexplored Areas (private tour)

Beyond the usual highlights Buenos Aires offers, there is another part of the city which remains largely unknown and mostly inaccessible to most tourists. We’ll visit these “forgotten” and unknown neighborhoods of Buenos Aires, far off the typical tourist circuits, while delving into the remarkable stories of these off-the-beaten-path areas, as well as their most important highlights.

In a cultural journey that explores both the past and present of the working class sectors of Buenos Aires, this tour rediscovers the important contributions made by workers and immigrants; as well as the history of tramways, tango, and soccer… all mixed into a melting pot of historical development.

This is a 4-hour private tour.

Transfer from your hotel to Ezeiza International Airport in private vehicle.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Argentina!

Do you like this itinerary? Request a free customized itinerary proposal designed by our travel experts now!

Close day-by-day itinerary

Vincent King and Robert Shenfeld

(Los Angeles, California, United States)

“We cannot recommend Exploration Journeys more highly! From the first quote until the end of our trip, this was hands down the best experience we've ever had with a travel agent or tour operator. From the moment of first contact, I was impressed by Fred. No question was too small, and he was so quick with his responses!”

“After we booked, Exploration Journeys mailed us a printed and bound, personalized Travel Booklet, which is probably the most thorough pre-trip resource that I've ever received from ANY tour operator or travel agent.”

“We would definitely recommend Exploration Journeys to anyone who wants a first class and worry-free vacation in Argentina!”

Vincent & Robert visited: Buenos Aires, El Calafate, Mendoza and Iguazu Falls on October 2019.
This was their first trip to Argentina.

TRIP REVIEW OF VINCENT KING AND ROBERT SHENFELD

"We cannot recommend Exploration Journeys more highly! From the first quote until the end of our trip, this was hands down the best experience we've ever had with a travel agent or tour operator. We just returned from a 15-day trip to Argentina, and everything went so smoothly, mostly because of Exploration Journeys. I usually plan our international trips on my own, using resources from the Internet. Iguazu Falls had long been on my bucket list, so we decided to plan a two-week trip to see the highlights of Argentina.

We selected Buenos Aires, El Calafate, Mendoza and Iguazu for a breadth of experiences. But those destinations involved a lot of domestic flights, and I had read that flights are frequently delayed or cancelled on the main carrier - Aerolineas Argentinas - and that the airline does not have a great reputation for customer service. I was worried that this potential added stress might spoil our enjoyment of our vacation. I knew that I needed the help of a Spanish-speaking tour company, who would still let me customize our experience, but help facilitate any problem-solving.

I found Exploration Journeys through a Google search, and requested a quote. From the moment of first contact, I was impressed by Fred. After the initial quote, he followed up to ask if I had any questions or if I wanted to change anything. No question was too small, and he was so quick with his responses! He helped me to customize an itinerary that had a variety of experiences in our desired destinations.

After we booked, Exploration Journeys mailed us a printed and bound, personalized Travel Booklet, which is probably the most thorough pre-trip resource that I've ever received from ANY tour operator or travel agent. They've thought of everything - instructions on how to dial international phone numbers, information on travel insurance, vaccinations, baggage weight limits for domestic flights, local weather, tipping guidelines, tips on what to see and where to eat in each destination, what to pack, and more! The booklet also included our detailed itinerary, complete with our selected flights and tours.

Plus, it had vouchers that we could tear out and hand to each provider (even though we really didn't need them). Exploration Journeys is located in Buenos Aires and works with local tour agencies in the destination cities. These local agencies coordinate your airport transfers, tours, and any other issues when you're at a destination, but Exploration Journeys also assigns you a "trip host," who is never more than an email or phone call away. The hotels they use are very good, and we felt that we got some of the better rooms in those hotels. The private airport transfers are a huge plus - it's a huge relief to emerge from the airport and see your name on a sign and know that you'll arrive safely at your hotel.

And, your trip host is constantly monitoring your travel plans. In our case, the pilots of Aerolineas Argentinas were planning to strike on the weekend that we were supposed to fly to El Calafate. Fred proactively assessed the situation and rebooked us on a different airline before we even heard about the potential strike. WOW!

Another example of Exploration Journeys' amazing service: while you're on your trip, your trip host thoughtfully checks you in to your next domestic flight, notifies you via email and emails the boarding passes to your hotel concierge for printout. Often, the printed boarding passes are also provided to you by your tour guide, so you never have to worry about receiving them.

We would definitely recommend Exploration Journeys to anyone who wants a 'first class and worry-free' vacation in Argentina!”

Close full testimonial

VINCENT & ROBERT'S BOOKED TRIP ITINERARY

DAY 1: YOU ARRIVE IN BUENOS AIRES

(staying for 3 nights, with 2 tours included)

Flight arrival in Buenos Aires, Argentina!

Welcome at the airport and transfer in private vehicle to your hotel.

Free day to relax and enjoy your own explorations.

DAY 2: BUENOS AIRES

Free day to relax and enjoy your own explorations.

Passion and Beauty: an Authentic and Exclusive World-class Tango Experience

We invite you to live it up with a night of passion, charm, and sensuality as you enjoy an exclusive and world-class Tango experience at Gala Tango.

This is one of the most exclusive Tango shows in Buenos Aires, and has been enjoyed by great artists from around the world the likes of Madonna and Sting. The show also includes a brief but exciting display of some of the unique features of Argentine folklore.

Located on a small cobblestone street in the historic neighborhood of San Telmo, Gala Tango is beautifully decorated with French style architecture reminiscent of the 1930s. The building’s high ceilings and crystal chandeliers will make you feel as though you have traveled back in time to the “Golden Age of Tango,” while the small size of the theatre allows for a more exclusive experience than that of a regular tango shows. Tango is a universe onto itself as it creates a multi-layered marriage of music, dance, singing and poetry.

You will enjoy seeing world-class singers, musicians, and dancers (some winners of Tango World Championships were dancers of Gala Tango!).

The Argentine folklore portion of the show includes traditional costumes, and a mesmerizing boleadoras show performed by the show’s very own gaucho! A gaucho is the Argentinean equivalent of a North American cowboy, and the boleadoras are a traditional throwing weapon (made of weights on the ends of interconnected cords, and used to capture animals by entangling their legs).

This tour includes private transfers and dinner with non-alcoholic beverages & wine.

DAY 3: BUENOS AIRES

Free day to relax and enjoy your own explorations.

DAY 4: LAST DAY IN BUENOS AIRES

Transfer in private vehicle to Buenos Aires Airport.

El Calafate

DAY 4: YOU ARRIVE IN EL CALAFATE

(staying for 3 nights, with 2 tours included)

Flight arrival in El Calafate. Welcome at airport and private transfer to your hotel.

Depending on your arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 5: EL CALAFATE

An Experience of Conquering the Mighty Perito Moreno Glacier!

Discover your inner adventurer as you explore and conquer one of the world’s most awe-inspiring and unique glaciers: The Perito Moreno. This splendid ice giant showcases its mighty glory in the Patagonian Glaciers National Park, which has been declared Mankind’s Natural Heritage site by UNESCO. The park’s vast size not only gives it the distinction of being the largest ice mantle in the world after Antarctica, but also that of being the third largest fresh water reserve on the planet.

Now, picture yourself strapping on your ice spikes, as you begin trekking along this ice giant on a full-day discovery journey along one of the few glaciers in the world, which is actually growing and advancing.

Your full day of adventure will include a close-up navigation of the Perito Moreno Glacier and a visit to the seven panoramic balconies facing the front of the glacier where you’ll have amazing picture-taking opportunities. After an adventure-packed day, you’ll be able to rest with the satisfaction of having successfully conquered the mighty Perito Moreno!

This is a full-day group tour and has an age restriction (click on tour name above for details).

DAY 6: EL CALAFATE

Icy Blue Giants: Navigate the Largest Patagonian Glaciers and take the most Awe-inspiring Glacier Photos (in boat’s VIP section)

Hop aboard as we embark on a discovery journey to admire the second largest glacier in South America: the Upsala, as well as other Patagonian ice giants only accessible by boat. The glaciers’ grandness is imposing, and their color remarkable: ranging from pure white to shades of dark blue. We’ll get comfortable in our seats, inside the exclusive VIP cabin on the upper floor of our ship, where we’ll experience better panoramic views with superior comfort and service.

On our way to the Upsala Glacier, we’ll enjoy great photo opportunities while we see icebergs of incredible and diverse shapes and sizes.

This is a full-day group tour and includes lunch at VIP boat cabin, including water, soft drinks, wine and beer.

DAY 7: LAST DAY IN EL CALAFATE

Transfer in private vehicle to El Calafate airport.

You will take a flight to Buenos Aires and from there you will take another flight to Mendoza.
Mendoza

DAY 7: YOU ARRIVE IN MENDOZA

(staying for 3 nights, with 2 tours included)

Flight arrival in Mendoza. Welcome at airport and private transfer to your hotel.

Depending on your arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 8: MENDOZA

Scenic Mendoza’s High-mountain Ride and The Stone Sentinel (private tour)

It’s time to hit the road as we take a scenic drive through Mendoza’s picturesque high mountain landscape, where we’ll wind our way across valleys, flat lowlands, streams, rivers, and foothills before taking on the highest peaks of the Cordillera de los Andes Mountain Range.

You’ll witness the unique architecture of nature with the natural Puente del Inca land bridge and all of its intriguing colors; as well as marvel at the sight of the highest peak in the world outside of Asia: Aconcagua, also known as the “Stone Sentinel.”

With so much panoramic beauty to behold, this road trip will definitely be a feast for your eyes and your camera!

This is a full-day private tour.

DAY 9: MENDOZA

A Day of Biking & Wine Tasting in Mendoza’s Wineries

It’s time to hop on our bikes, as we pedal our way through the roads of Mendoza, connecting 3 wineries, which we’ll have a chance to visit, as well as get to sample some ruby-colored wines! Not only will we enjoy the scenic and picturesque vineyards, set against the backdrop of the snow-capped mountains, but we’ll also visit 3 wineries, giving us a taste of why the vineyards of Mendoza are at the heart of the Argentine winemaking industry.

This is a full-day group tour and includes lunch with 1 non-alcoholic beverage & wine in a winery or local restaurant.

Important: the total bike ride can range from 6 to 14 miles (10 to 20 kilometers), depending on the group; and we’ll be biking from one winery to another through the main roads connecting the visited wineries. Please note that we will not be biking inside the wineries or next to vineyards.

DAY 10: LAST DAY IN MENDOZA

Private transfer to Mendoza airport to take your flight.

Your flight from Mendoza to Iguazu has 1 stop in Salta (without changing aircrafts) before continuing to Iguazu
Iguazu Falls

DAY 10: YOU ARRIVE IN IGUAZU

(staying for 2 nights, with 3 tours included)

Flight arrival in Iguazu.

Welcome at airport and private transfer to your hotel. Depending on your flight arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 11: IGUAZU

Witness the Unique Power & Might of the Iguazu Falls from the Argentine Side (private tour)

“You might have seen the photos. Even read about it. You might have visited other great waterfalls before. But you probably still have no idea what to expect when you come face to face with the almighty Iguazu Falls,” stated CNN in their article “Iguazu Falls: Why this natural wonder should be on everyone’s bucket list". To put that into perspective, Iguazu Falls is nearly twice as tall as Niagara Falls and nearly three times as wide. The late U.S. First Lady, Eleanor Roosevelt, was reportedly so impressed by the sight of Iguazu Falls that she exclaimed “Poor Niagara!”

In 1984, Iguazu Falls became a UNESCO World Heritage Site; and in 2011, it was selected as one of the 7 winners of the “New Seven Wonders of Nature” worldwide competition in which more than 100 million votes were cast.

Their size and scale are unlike any other waterfall on Earth. Made up of a system of 275 waterfalls, they have a staggering water flow of up to almost 3.5 million gallons (13 million liters) per second – enough to fill five Olympic swimming pools!

Unlike Niagara Falls, which is surrounded by developments such as casinos, a revolving restaurant, and coffee shops, Iguazu Falls are located within one of the few remaining inland rainforests in South America, the Atlantic rainforest, which is a haven for more than 2,000 plant species, about 400 birds species, and 80 types of mammals!

This is a full-day private tour.

DAY 12: LAST DAY IN IGUAZU

Behold the Breathtaking Panoramic Views of Iguazu Falls from the Brazilian Side (private tour)

With 80% of the falls located on the Argentine side, it is only from the Brazilian side that one can see almost all of them at once, in full, breathtakingly panoramic views.

The Brazilian side offers majestic scenic views of the beauty and entirety of the falls; this is because the Brazilian footbridge lies across the river from the falls, offering a unique perspective and epic scenic views, making the Brazilian side different and absolutely complementary to the experience from the Argentinean side.

This is a half-day private tour.

Walking Among Exotic Birds in the Iguazu Rainforest

You’re about to enter a one-of-a-kind bird sanctuary! Here you’ll find the largest colony of toucans on display in the world, as well as the largest colony of parrots on display in South America, along with 150 different bird species from Brazil and all over the world, many of them endangered.

Located in the midst of the lush tropical rainforest, Foz Tropicana Bird Park is an internationally-recognized rescue and preservation center for endangered birds; and it’s among the most important ones in South America. You’ll find yourself side by side a myriad of exotic birds, in the three walk-in aviaries, where you’ll have the opportunity to have an up-close and personal experience with amazingly colorful parrots and Toco Toucans, among many other birds… all of them right next to you or even flying over your head!

In addition to the diversity and beauty of the birds you’ll see, the park itself presents itself as a unique location. It covers nearly 40 acres (16 hectares) of rainforest, so you’re quite literally going to find yourself in the middle of nature as you make your way along the trails!

This visit lasts about 2 hours and is done on the same day you do the Brazilian side of the falls tour.

Transfer with private vehicle to Iguazu airport.

Buenos Aires

DAY 12: YOU ARRIVE IN BUENOS AIRES

(staying for 2 nights)

Arrival in Buenos Aires and transfer to your hotel in private vehicle.

DAY 13: BUENOS AIRES

Free day to relax and enjoy your own explorations.

DAY 14: BUENOS AIRES

Transfer from your hotel to Ezeiza International Airport in private vehicle.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Argentina!

Do you like this itinerary? Request a free customized itinerary proposal designed by our travel experts now!

Close day-by-day itinerary

Darell West and Curtis Keswick

(Mount Vernon, Washington, United States)

“I would give this trip 10 stars if I could. This was the most organized trip I have been on. This was our first trip to Argentina and Fred and his team went way out of their way to make sure our experience was outstanding.”

“This was such an amazing trip that I would be delighted to be a reference and contact for future guests."

"If you want a worry free trip this is the organization you want to go with.”

Darell & Curtis visited: Buenos Aires, Bariloche and Ushuaia on October 2019.
This was their first trip to Argentina.

TRIP REVIEW OF DARELL WEST AND CURTIS KESWICK

"I would give this trip 10 stars if I could. This was the most organized trip I have been on. This was our first trip to Argentina and Fred and his team went way out of their way to make sure our experience was outstanding.

When we were at the airport in Bariloche our plane was being delayed so that finally we would not make our next connection. We got a call from Fred and he told us why it was delayed and had already booked us on a different flight to a different city and then a connection to our intended destination. We did end up taking a flight the next morning to Ushuaia very early and made it in time to have a quick breakfast and get on the bus to go canoeing and hiking to the southern tip of the Pan-American Highway!

The tours were first class and super organized. The drivers that picked us up were always on time and their vehicles were modern and spotless. The tours were the best out of all the country’s I have visited. My highlight was the Argentine Tango night that started with a superb dinner. Then multiple different dance routines and singing to show us the real flavor of the Argentine people. Our horseback ride in Bariloche was lead by experienced guides that made everyone feel very special.

The hotels were 5 star with excellent service. First rate; clean, excellent service with fabulous breakfasts.

The local restaurants were the best, especially the meat. Argentina is famous for their beef. Every meal we ate had meat cooked to perfection. There was usually more than we could eat! The buffet breakfasts that were included with all the rooms had a great variety of fabulous food. We usually didn't think about eating til dinner-time. However, with the rafting and horseback riding tours a lunch was included.

I had not one negative thing to say about this trip. This was such an amazing trip that I would be delighted to be a reference and contact for future guests.

If you want a worry free trip this is the organization you want to go with."

Close full testimonial

DARELL & CURTIS'S BOOKED TRIP ITINERARY

DAY 1: YOU ARRIVE IN BUENOS AIRES

(staying for 1 night, with 1 tour included)

Flight arrival in Buenos Aires, Argentina!

Welcome at the airport and transfer with private vehicle and guide to your hotel.
You have an early check-in included so you"ll get your room as soon as you arrive.

Images of Buenos Aires: European Heritage and Latin American Passion (private tour)

Buenos Aires has been chosen for 3 consecutive years (2014, 2015 and 2016) as the #1 destination to visit in South America by millions of TripAdvisor users in their “Traveler’s Choice” contest... and rightfully so! This cosmopolitan, vibrant, and sophisticated city, commonly called the “Paris of Latin America,” is the best place in the world to enjoy a first-class tango show and to eat some of the tastiest steak, accompanied by celebrated Argentine Malbec wine.

Our expert “porteño” (as locals are called) guide will take you on a cultural journey, where you’ll visit the most iconic neighborhoods and learn about the highlights of the city; taking in its architecture, culture, history, and more! This tour is also a great opportunity to learn from your expert tour guide, the necessary information and useful tips to make the most of your free time in the city.

This is a private 4-hour tour.

DAY 2: LAST DAY IN BUENOS AIRES

Transfer in private vehicle to Buenos Aires Airport.

Bariloche

DAY 2: YOU ARRIVE IN BARILOCHE

(staying for 3 nights, with 2 tours included)

Flight arrival in Bariloche. Welcome at airport and private transfer to your hotel.

Depending on your arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 3: BARILOCHE

A Panoramic Hiking Experience to Awe-Inspiring Vistas (private tour)

Get ready for a one-of-a-kind panoramic hiking experience, where you’ll be enchanted by some of the most breathtaking panoramic views of Patagonia, including one of the ten most beautiful views in the world, as rated by National Geographic!

Our expert guide will help you hone your hiking skills, as you set out to explore the surrounding areas of Mount Llao Llao. You’ll also take a chairlift ride up Campanario Hill, where you’ll enjoy awe-inspiring panoramic views of deep-blue lakes and snow-capped mountains. Get your camera ready as this will surely be one of the best opportunities to take some of the most wonderful and sublime landscape photos out there!

This is a half-day private tour.

DAY 4: BARILOCHE

A Horseback Adventure in the Patagonian Wilderness

It’s time to swing onto the saddle of our horse and ride into the wilderness while we take in the beautiful Patagonian landscape and wilderness. Our expert guide will lead us through lush green forests and lakes of blue, while we’re surrounded by the snow-capped Andes mountain range.

Your Patagonian horseback ride will take you out on a 30-minute drive along legendary Route 40, Argentina’s longest road, it traverses 3,107 miles (5,000 kilometers) from the country’s northernmost city to its southernmost tip.

We’ll do one horseback riding in the morning, and another one during the afternoon (usually riding for 1 hour and a half to 2 hours in each outing).

This is a full-day group tour and includes lunch with non-alcoholic beverages & wine.

DAY 5: LAST DAY IN BARILOCHE

Transfer in private vehicle to Bariloche Airport.

You will take a flight to El Calafate and from there you will take another flight to Ushuaia.
Ushuaia

DAY 5: YOU ARRIVE IN USHUAIA

(staying for 3 nights, with 2 tours included)

Flight arrival in Ushuaia. Welcome at airport and private transfer to your hotel.

Depending on your arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 6: USHUAIA

A Trekking and Canoeing Adventure at the Ends of the Earth

Prepare for a journey to the Ends of the Earth, as we embark on an unforgettable tour to Tierra del Fuego National Park, located in Ushuaia, the southernmost city in the world! With 63,000 hectares of land this National Park is larger than the city of Chicago! You’ll encounter some of the most pristine and beautiful scenery nature has to offer, while experiencing the uniquely remote feeling of truly being at the ends of the Earth.

Our expert guide will help you discover the hidden wonders of the Tierra del Fuego National Park, including its enchanting lakes, forests, lush vegetation, and wildlife as you surround yourself in the peaceful serenity of nature.
We’ll trek the coastal path (one of the most beautiful areas in the entire National Park) and then embark on a canoeing expedition downriver and across clear water streams while experiencing the calming breeze and breathtaking landscapes. Our canoeing journey concludes when we get to Lapataia Bay, where Argentina’s National Route #3 ends. This road is the last (and southernmost) stretch of the Pan-American Highway, which runs all the way to Alaska.

This is a full-day group tour and includes lunch with non-alcoholic beverages & wine.

DAY 7: USHUAIA

The Beagle Channel Odyssey of Discovery: The Gable Expedition

Get ready to experience a one-of-a-kind canoeing and trekking adventure at the Ends of the Earth!

We’ll set off to explore the mighty Beagle Channel: the same waters navigated by the first founders of Ushuaia and by adventurous explorers the likes of naturalist Charles Darwin. As we follow this route in our canoes, we’ll feel both a sense of freedom and isolation from civilization, taking us back to a time when the Yamana tribe inhabited this distant corner of the planet.

Our final destination will take us off-the-beaten-path and onto the remote, uninhabited Gable Island; the largest island in the Beagle Channel.

This is a full-day group tour and includes lunch with non-alcoholic beverages & wine.

DAY 8: LAST DAY IN USHUAIA

Transfer in private vehicle to Ushuaia airport.

Buenos Aires

DAY 8: YOU ARRIVE IN BUENOS AIRES

(staying for 1 night, with 1 tour included)

Arrival in Buenos Aires and transfer to your hotel in private vehicle.

Passion and Beauty: an Authentic World-class Tango Experience

You are cordially invited to an evening of live music filled with passion, sensuality and dancing, at one of the best Tango venues in Buenos Aires: La Ventana. Located at the heart of the historic San Telmo neighborhood, you’ll enjoy a world-class Tango show in a restored tenement building (or, ‘conventillo’). This enchanting show also boasts unique features of Argentine folklore.

As you step through the doors, you’ll feel as though you have traveled back in time, with the interior of the building preserved in its original style. The show at La Ventana is a journey through the history of Tango, in which you’ll experience different and authentic styles of this mesmerizing dance, each with its own particular set of music, dancing style, and costumes.

Tango is a universe onto itself as it creates a multi-layered marriage of music, dance, singing and poetry.

Private transfers to and from the La Ventana are included, as well as dinner with non-alcoholic beverages & wine.

DAY 9: BUENOS AIRES

Transfer from your hotel to Ezeiza International Airport in private vehicle.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Argentina!

Do you like this itinerary? Request a free customized itinerary proposal designed by our travel experts now!

Close day-by-day itinerary

Viviana Gonzalez and Wanda Villamil

(Mount Vernon, Washington, United StatesPuerto Rico)

"Fred was always on top of everything and the services provided before and during our trip were first-class."

"I wanted to make sure that the travel was smooth and worry-free, and Exploration Journeys made it happen."

"I will surely travel with Explorations Journeys again. I will always be very grateful to Fred for helping me organize this memorable trip with my mom."

Viviana & Wanda visited: Buenos Aires, El Calafate, Bariloche and Iguazu Falls on August 2019.
This was their first trip to South America.

TRIP REVIEW OF VIVIANA GONZALEZ AND WANDA VILLAMIL

"My mom had always dreamed of traveling to Argentina so we decided to go on August 2019 to celebrate her 65th birthday. I wanted to make sure that the travel was smooth and worry-free for her, and Exploration Journeys made it happen.
We visited Buenos Aires, Calafate, Bariloche and Iguazu. I cannot decide which one is my favorite, each location had something special to offer and the food was amazing. Fred was always on top of everything and the services provided before and during our trip were first-class. I will surely travel with Explorations Journeys again. I will always be very grateful to Fred for helping me organize this memorable trip with my mom."

Close full testimonial

VIVIANA & WANDA'S BOOKED TRIP ITINERARY

DAY 1: YOU ARRIVE IN BUENOS AIRES

(staying for 1 night)

Flight arrival in Buenos Aires, Argentina!

Welcome at the airport and transfer with private vehicle and guide to your hotel.

DAY 2: LAST DAY IN BUENOS AIRES

Transfer in private vehicle to Buenos Aires Airport.

El Calafate

DAY 2: YOU ARRIVE IN EL CALAFATE

(staying for 2 nights, with 2 tours included)

Flight arrival in El Calafate. Welcome at airport and private transfer to your hotel.

Depending on your arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 3: EL CALAFATE

Seven Panoramic Boardwalks of the Mighty Perito Moreno Glacier

Prepare to visit one of the world’s most awe-inspiring and unique glaciers: The Perito Moreno. This bright white ice giant showcases its mighty glory in the Patagonian Glaciers National Park, which has been declared Mankind’s Natural Heritage site by UNESCO. The park’s vast size not only gives it the distinction of being the largest ice mantle in the world, after Antarctica, but also the third largest fresh water reserve on the planet.

The Perito Moreno is of the few glaciers in the world actually growing and advancing, as opposed to the majority of the world’s glaciers, which are retreating and melting due to the effects of global warming. The ice that serenely sits above the water measures an impressive 262 feet (80 meters), which is just about the height of a 25-story building! And while that’s an incredibly large size for the human eye to take in, consider that this measurement is only 15% of the glacier’s total height. Five times more ice is hidden underwater.

Our destination is the panoramic boardwalks which overlook the Perito Moreno Glacier. Here, amidst the backdrop of the majestic, snow-capped Andes, you’ll find yourself immersed in an unforgettable glacier experience, while enjoy amazing picture-taking opportunities from the seven panoramic balconies facing the front of the glacier.

While the glacier itself is definitely the main attraction, the park also boasts remarkable scenery as well as glacial streams, small lagoons, crevasses, gullies, and plenty of ice formations that’ll dazzle the eye, surrounded by the scenic beauty of the Andes Mountain range, lakes and forest areas.

This is a full-day group tour.

The Mighty Perito Moreno Glacier Close-up Navigation Experience

Take in the sheer size and beauty of the Perito Moreno Glacier as it towers before you, from an exciting close-up perspective, as we cruise across the pristine waters of the Rico Branch of the Argentino Lake, which borders the Southern wall of the Perito Moreno Glacier.

The sheer magnitude of the southern wall alone is a humbling and inspiring sight. We’ll be stopping about 985 feet (300 meters) away from the southern wall of the glacier for some epic picture-taking opportunities that will showcase the grand scale and beauty of the glacier.

This will be definitely a different perspective from what you experience on the panoramic boardwalks.

This navigation is a 1-hour group tour done on the same day you do the Perito Moreno Glacier tour.

DAY 4: LAST DAY IN EL CALAFATE

Transfer in private vehicle to El Calafate airport.

Bariloche

DAY 4: YOU ARRIVE IN BARILOCHE

(staying for 3 nights, with 2 tours included)

Flight arrival in Bariloche. Welcome at airport and private transfer to your hotel.

Depending on your arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 5: BARILOCHE

A Panoramic Hiking Experience to Awe-Inspiring Vistas (private tour)

Get ready for a one-of-a-kind panoramic hiking experience, where you’ll be enchanted by some of the most breathtaking panoramic views of Patagonia, including one of the ten most beautiful views in the world, as rated by National Geographic!

Our expert guide will help you hone your hiking skills, as you set out to explore the surrounding areas of Mount Llao Llao. You’ll also take a chairlift ride up Campanario Hill, where you’ll enjoy awe-inspiring panoramic views of deep-blue lakes and snow-capped mountains. Get your camera ready as this will surely be one of the best opportunities to take some of the most wonderful and sublime landscape photos out there!

This is a half-day private tour.

Navigating the Nahuel Huapi Lake (in VIP cabin) & Exploring and Hiking at Victoria Island and the Myrtle Forest (with private guide)

Prepare to navigate the beautiful blue waters of the Nahuel Huapi Lake, the largest in Argentina’s Lake District, set against the backdrop of the snow-capped Andes mountain range. We’ll enjoy our exclusive seating in the boat’s VIP cabin located on the upper deck. From here we’ll experience superior panoramic views and a much more exclusive setting, since there are only 50 seats in the VIP cabin (compared to the over-200-people capacity of the regular cabin).

Known for its cold glacial waters and for being the habitat of kelp gulls and blue-eyed cormorants (which are typically only found near oceans), the Nahuel Huapi Lake provides plenty of natural beauty and beckons with the serenity of its waters.

We’ll visit the largest island on the Nahuel Huapi Lake: Victoria Island, home to a wide array of flora and fauna; also offering plenty of history, including ancient cave paintings. Another highlight of this navigation includes a visit to a unique forest of myrtle trees at Arrayanes National Park. These intriguing, cinnamon-hued trees are known for their attractive, smooth and tan bark, peppered with white spots; and giving the forest a captivating mystique. In fact, it’s widely fabled that Walt Disney, during his visit to Argentina, was inspired by this forest to create his animated classic “Bambi.”

This is a long half day tour. You’ll have your own private guide to help you make the most out of your tour experience. Transfers to and from the port will be done on group basis.

DAY 6: BARILOCHE

Free day to relax and enjoy your own explorations.

DAY 7: LAST DAY IN BARILOCHE

Transfer in private vehicle to Bariloche Airport.

You will take a flight to Buenos Aires and from there you will take another flight to Iguazu.
Iguazu Falls

DAY 7: YOU ARRIVE IN IGUAZU

(staying for 2 nights, with 2 tours included)

Flight arrival in Iguazu.

Welcome at airport and private transfer to your hotel. Depending on your flight arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 8: IGUAZU

Witness the Unique Power & Might of the Iguazu Falls from the Argentine Side (private tour)

“You might have seen the photos. Even read about it. You might have visited other great waterfalls before. But you probably still have no idea what to expect when you come face to face with the almighty Iguazu Falls,” stated CNN in their article “Iguazu Falls: Why this natural wonder should be on everyone’s bucket list". To put that into perspective, Iguazu Falls is nearly twice as tall as Niagara Falls and nearly three times as wide. The late U.S. First Lady, Eleanor Roosevelt, was reportedly so impressed by the sight of Iguazu Falls that she exclaimed “Poor Niagara!”

In 1984, Iguazu Falls became a UNESCO World Heritage Site; and in 2011, it was selected as one of the 7 winners of the “New Seven Wonders of Nature” worldwide competition in which more than 100 million votes were cast.

Their size and scale are unlike any other waterfall on Earth. Made up of a system of 275 waterfalls, they have a staggering water flow of up to almost 3.5 million gallons (13 million liters) per second – enough to fill five Olympic swimming pools!

Unlike Niagara Falls, which is surrounded by developments such as casinos, a revolving restaurant, and coffee shops, Iguazu Falls are located within one of the few remaining inland rainforests in South America, the Atlantic rainforest, which is a haven for more than 2,000 plant species, about 400 birds species, and 80 types of mammals!

This is a full-day private tour.

A Speedboat Adventure Up-Close the Iguazu Falls

Get ready for a fantastic speedboat adventure, enjoying a unique, up-close perspective of the majestic Iguazu Falls. This tour experience makes for a different point of view from what you will have seen from the panoramic boardwalks. Our speedboat will zip the waters of the Iguazu River, and approach the falls, getting right inside the mist formed by their thunderous splash!

You’ll be thoroughly splashed by the mist of the falls, as you take in the water’s imposing roar. This ride provides a unique and extremely close-up view of the San Martin and Three Musketeers falls. The high point of this experience will be without a doubt, being showered under the mist of the San Martin Falls; the second strongest falls in the Iguazu system. Now it’s time to hop on board and begin our waterfall adventure!

This is a 12-minute group tour and is done on the same day you do the Argentinean side of the falls tour. This tour has an age restriction (click on tour name above for details).

DAY 9: LAST DAY IN IGUAZU

Transfer with private vehicle to Iguazu airport.

Buenos Aires

DAY 9: YOU ARRIVE IN BUENOS AIRES

(staying for 1 night, with 1 tour included)

Arrival in Buenos Aires and transfer to your hotel in private vehicle.

Passion and Beauty: an Authentic World-class Tango Experience

You are cordially invited to an evening of live music filled with passion, sensuality and dancing, at one of the best Tango venues in Buenos Aires: La Ventana. Located at the heart of the historic San Telmo neighborhood, you’ll enjoy a world-class Tango show in a restored tenement building (or, ‘conventillo’). This enchanting show also boasts unique features of Argentine folklore.

As you step through the doors, you’ll feel as though you have traveled back in time, with the interior of the building preserved in its original style. The show at La Ventana is a journey through the history of Tango, in which you’ll experience different and authentic styles of this mesmerizing dance, each with its own particular set of music, dancing style, and costumes.

Tango is a universe onto itself as it creates a multi-layered marriage of music, dance, singing and poetry.

This tour includes group transfers and dinner with non-alcoholic beverages & wine.

DAY 10: BUENOS AIRES

Transfer from your hotel to Ezeiza International Airport in private vehicle.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Argentina!

Do you like this itinerary? Request a free customized itinerary proposal designed by our travel experts now!

Close day-by-day itinerary

Nathan & Jodi Adolf

(Kansas City, Missouri, United States)

"We had an amazing time in Brazil. This was our second vacation with Exploration Journeys - the first was Argentina. Fred and Martin are exceptional!"

They lined us up with amazing English-speaking guides who all were professional, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. In each location we felt like we arrived as strangers and left as friends!"

"The tours were all awesome - a wide variety of activities with just enough 'on our own' time."

"We are extremely happy with our experiences with Exploration Journeys and highly recommend them to anyone thinking about taking an epic journey to either country!"

Nathan & Jodi visited: Amazon rainforest, Fernando de Noronha and Rio de Janeiro on August 2019.
This was their first trip to Brazil.

Interested in visiting Brazil? check out Brazil Exploration Journeys

TRIP REVIEW OF NATHAN & JODI ADOLF

"We had an amazing time in Brazil. This was our second vacation with Exploration Journeys - the first was Argentina. Fred and Martin are exceptional! The communications and information prior to the trips allowed us to be prepared so we could just enjoy the journey! They lined us up with amazing English-speaking guides who all were professional, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. In each location we felt like we arrived as strangers and left as friends!
The tours were all awesome - a wide variety of activities with just enough "on our own" time. Brazil and Argentina are beautiful, diverse and huge countries! We are extremely happy with our experiences with Exploration Journeys and highly recommend them to anyone thinking about taking an epic journey to either country!"

Close full testimonial

NATHAN & JODI'S BOOKED TRIP ITINERARY

Amazon Rainforest

DAY 1: YOU ARRIVE IN AMAZON RAINFOREST

(staying for 3 nights, with 7 tours included)

Flight arrival in Amazonas. Welcome at the airport and transfer with private vehicle and group boat to your lodge. The approximate total transfer time is 60 minutes (40 minutes by car and 20 by boat).

Welcome to Brazil!

A Nighttime Canoeing Expedition in the Amazon (private tour)

It’s pitch black darkness in the Amazon Rainforest, as we’re embarked aboard a motorized canoe on an expedition to contemplate and listen to the myriad of sounds coming from the nocturnal creatures of the Amazon Rainforest. With many animals being nocturnal, the Amazon Rainforest comes alive at night, giving us the chance to experience the Amazon’s animal “orchestra” while hopefully spotting some of its nocturnal wildlife, as well as seeing the glowing eyes of a caiman swimming in the dark right beside our boat!

During our outing, we’ll be able to take in the constant and enthralling sounds of chirping and singing from the nearby birds and insects as we’re surrounded by the ambience of nighttime on the Amazon.

This is a 1 hour private tour.

DAY 2: AMAZON RAINFOREST

A Taste of Amazon Life: an Amazon Dweller Shows Us His Traditions, Customs and Distinctive Perspective on Life (private tour)

It’s time hop on our boat and navigate down the Amazon river to visit one Caboclo (Amazon dweller). We’ll learn first-hand about the traditions, customs and distinctive perspective on life of a caboclo. We’ll learn about his life, customs, and how Caboclos make a living off the jungle that surrounds them. This is a unique chance to experience and interact with one of the locals that call the Amazon basin their home.

This is a 1 hour private tour.

Visiting a Wild Monkey Conservation Center (private tour)

We’ll set out on a boat to visit the facilities for rehabilitation and re-introduction of wild animals into their habitats (known as "the Monkey Forest"). This center was created in 1991, with the intention of receiving animals confiscated from illegal commerce. In this center, the animals are evaluated and taken care of by a team of veterinary doctors and biologists.

One of the species mostly present at the site is the “macaco barrigudo” (woolly monkey), which has a protected status as a result of abuse by illegal traders and their slow reproductive rate. You’ll also see wild monkeys, that come out every day for food, and maybe even some resident monkeys that live in the center, for rehabilitation purposes.

This is a 40 minutes private tour. The tour is not always available, because the reserve is sometimes depleted when monkeys are readapted to the wild.

Hands–on Survival Techniques, Trekking and Sleepover in the Thick of the Amazon Rainforest (private tour)

Get ready for a most adventurous afternoon and sleepover in the thick of the Amazon rainforest! We’ll spend an entire afternoon in the jungle, hiking and learning a wealth of hands–on jungle survival techniques from a team of former members of the Brazilian Military, specialized in jungle rescue operations. Our trained professional team leaders will take us on a hiking tour and will introduce us to jungle survival techniques, such as obtaining drinking water, making fire, differentiating edible plant species, setting up traps, building a shelter, and the Amazonian “peconha” technique to gather fruit from high up on trees.

For dinner we’ll make a genuine Amazonian barbecue served with sides and fruits.

Our night’s rest will be on hammocks tied between trees, with canopies to protect ourselves in case of rain.

This is a private tour for people of all ages (5 and up) and it’s designed to be safe and easygoing. The total hiking distance is normally around 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) but can be adapted to as little as 1200 feet (400 meters) or even less for guests with limited mobility. The tour, in sum, is designed for almost everyone and, although it is adventurous and exciting, it is certainly not challenging.

This tour includes dinner with non-alcoholic beverages (starts in the afternoon and ends the following morning).

Note: we’ve had guests of all ages (up to 81 years old!) do this tour with great enjoyment, and we highly recommend this experience. It can be done as easy as you prefer, and you can let your guides know on that very day. Also, you can choose not to sleep over on the hammocks, returning to the lodge after the jungle barbecue dinner.

DAY 3: AMAZON RAINFOREST

A Unique Up-Close Experience with the Friendly Amazonian Pink Dolphins (private tour)

It’s time to head out on the Amazon river bound for an exciting encounter with the largest species of freshwater dolphin in the world: the Amazonian pink river dolphin! You’ll have the opportunity to dive in a shallow bank of the Amazonian Black River and enjoy an unique close-up experience around free and wild pink dolphins, known for their very friendly nature.

The professional caretaker will tell us about some of the unique features of this mammal, which is unique to the Amazon basin, and feed the dolphins while they swim next to us.

The transfer to the dolphin site is in a private boat with a private guide and takes approximately 90 minutes to get to the dolphins site and 1 hour to return, and the time spent with the dolphins is about 1 hour.

Witnessing the Unique Phenomenom of the Amazon River’s Unmixable Waters and Navigating on a Speedboat Through the Flooded Amazonian Forests (private tour)

Get ready to discover one of the many amazing features of the largest river on Earth: the Amazon River, whose flow is even larger than the flow of the next eight largest rivers in the world combined!

We’ll hop on our boat for a full day exploration on the Amazon river, where we’ll first navigate to the confluence of the two rivers that form the Amazon River: the pitch-black Rio Negro and the cream-colored Solimoes River. That confluence is known as “the meeting of the unmixable waters.” Due to a unique quirk of nature, the waters of these two tributary rivers flow side by side for about 8 miles (12 kilometers) without mixing, due to a large difference between the rivers’ flowing speeds and temperatures. The difference in color between the two rivers is so stark, in fact, that the two “unmixable” waters can even be distinguished from satellites orbiting in space! Next, we’ll visit the Janauari National Park to behold the largest water plants on Earth.

Finally, we’ll also experience the jungle from a whole new perspective, venturing in a private speedboat into the flooded jungle, among the trees and across the narrow passages.

This is a half day tour in a private speedboat with a private guide. It includes lunch without alcoholic beverages at a floating restaurant on the Amazon river, and comes right after the "Interacting with the Unique Amazonian Pink Dolphin " private tour.

A Fishing Adventure in Search of the Amazon’s Most Voracious Creature: the Piranha (private tour)

Grab your fishing pole and bait as we embark on a fishing adventure in the Amazon River in search of a fish famed for its aggressiveness and extremely sharp teeth: the piranha. Among the 2,200 species of fish living in the Amazon basin (more species than in all of the rivers of Europe combined!), piranhas have become the most famous due to their voracity. Due to their keen sense of smell for blood, they can attack at the scent of it, swarming by the thousands and stripping an animal to the bone in mere minutes!

Our expert guide will take us out in search of a good spot where he thinks we’ll have the best chances to fish piranhas and other species, while we take in the lush atmosphere of the surrounding Amazon river!

This is a 1 hour private tour.

DAY 4: LAST DAY IN AMAZON RAINFOREST

Transfer with private vehicle and group boat to Manaus airport. The approximate total transfer time is 1 hour (40 minutes by car and 20 by boat).

You will take a flight to Recife & Olinda and from there you will take another flight to Fernando de Noronha.
Fernando de Noronha

DAY 4: YOU ARRIVE IN FERNANDO DE NORONHA

(staying for 2 nights, with 2 tours included)

Flight arrival in Fernando de Noronha. Welcome at the airport and transfer to the lodge with private vehicle.

Depending on your arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 5: FERNANDO DE NORONHA

Discovering Fernando de Noronha's Marine Ecological Sanctuary: a Scuba Diving Experience for Certified Divers

Prepare for the “slow motion flying” experience, as you scuba dive in one of the most biodiverse diving locations in the world. The pristine island of Fernando de Noronha, a protected marine sanctuary, was declared a Mankind’s Natural Heritage Site by UNESCO for its marine biodiversity. In these waters, you may swim among a myriad fish, turtles, sharks, shrimp, sea horses, and the occasional Spinner dolphin or manta ray. With year round warm waters and world-class underwater visibility, Fernando de Noronha is a scuba diver’s paradise and considered to be one of the best diving areas in South America! In this experience, you’ll be diving at 2 different spots for about 35 minutes each dive.

You need at least an entry-level autonomous diver certification to go on this outing (for example, PADI’s Open Water Diver or NAUI’s Scuba Diver certifications).

This is a group tour and includes diving equipment. Total tour duration is around 3 hours.

Serenity at Sunset: a Fernando de Noronha Boat Cruise

Immerse yourself in the warm tropical breeze, the lazy lapping of waves against the boat, and an awe-inspiring vision of the sun setting over the ocean, as we experience the breathtaking and picturesque vistas of the Fernando de Noronha archipelago, on a sunset boat cruise. You’ll enjoy a fish & meat barbecue on board. Also, you’ll have the option to “fly underwater” while grabbing a board towed by your boat. This is an awesome way to experience the island’s unique marine wildlife.

This is a 4-hour group tour (including transfers), but with your own private guide. The boat has a maximum capacity of 15 people.

DAY 6: LAST DAY IN FERNANDO DE NORONHA

Free day to relax and enjoy your own explorations.

Transfer with private vehicle to Fernando de Noronha airport.

You will take a flight to Recife & Olinda and from there you will take another flight to Rio de Janeiro International Airport.
Rio de Janeiro

DAY 6: YOU ARRIVE IN RIO DE JANEIRO

(staying for 3 nights, with 3 tours included)

Flight arrival in Rio de Janeiro. Welcome at the airport and transfer to hotel with private vehicle and guide.

Depending on your arrival time, you can relax at your hotel, enjoy your own explorations, or ask our local representative about suggested activities for your free time.

DAY 7: RIO DE JANEIRO

The "Christ the redeemer" Statue, Tijuca Tropical Forest, Rio’s Historic Center and Off-the-Beaten-Path Explorations (private tour)

Get ready to marvel at the most important icon of Rio de Janeiro and one of the winners of the "New 7 Wonders of the World" worldwide competition, in which more than 100 million votes were cast: the Corcovado Mountain and its “Christ the Redeemer” statue. Our expert local guide will not only take you atop the Corcovado Mountain, where the colossal statue stands, but he’ll also help you discover the off-the beaten-path panoramic viewpoint “Dona Marta,” which most travelers do not get to see. This road less traveled offers amazing and unobstructed clear views to almost the entirety of the city (even on cloudy days when the views from the top of Corcovado Mountain are practically non-existent!).

We’ll also see the Tijuca Tropical Forest, one of the main reasons why Rio was designated a World Heritage Site by the United Nations. We’ll later visit Rio’s historic quarters and appreciate the urban beauty that has earned Rio the honor of having been declared the first World Capital of Architecture by the United Nations and the Council of the International Union of Architects, as a recognition to the architectural treasures that show the city’s culture and history since the 16th century. Our final experience as "Cariocas" (as locals from Rio are known) will be hopping aboard a "bondinho" (a very cute local tramway) that runs from the beautifully-preserved, historic neighborhood of Santa Teresa to the hip and bohemian Lapa neighborhood. This visit will include witnessing the largest sculpture in the world made by a single man, according to National Geographic: the Selaron Tiles staircase.

This is a full day private tour.

DAY 8: RIO DE JANEIRO

Learn to Prepare and Savor the Most Typical Brazilian Dishes and Drinks (private tour)

Put on your apron and step into the role of a Brazilian chef, as you put your cooking skills to the test, with a Brazilian regional cuisine cooking class. This 100% hands-on experience takes place in a cuisine studio located in the renowned Copacabana neighborhood. Not only will you learn how to cook some of the most delicious traditional Brazilian dishes, but you’ll also have the opportunity to learn about the country’s culture through food, and to savor the most classic Brazilian alcoholic drinks. (Click here for a detailed account of all meals and drinks prepared). Much of what you will have learnt here can be easily recreated at home, using close substitutes for the hard-to-find ingredients.

This is a half-day private tour. You’ll be picked up at your hotel by a Portuguese-speaking driver, and the personnel at the cooking class is fully bilingual.

A Cable Car Ascent to the Sugarloaf Mountain and its Astounding Panoramic Views (private tour)

Get ready to behold some of the most eye-popping panoramic views of Rio de Janeiro, embarking on a ride in a cable car to the mountaintop of one of the city’s most recognized icons: Sugarloaf Mountain. This is one of the main highlights that made Rio de Janeiro the #1 destination in South America, as voted by millions of travelers on Trip Advisor in 2017. Once we reach the top of Mount Sugarloaf, we’ll feast our eyes upon a stunning 360-degree panoramic view, including Rio’s beaches, mountains, and the Tijuca forest (it’s the largest tropical forest in the world in an urban setting). Also, in a leisurely walk across the newly renovated Olympic Boulevard, we’ll see the largest graffiti on the planet, a colorful and detailed depiction of Brazilian faces. To top the day off, we’ll end this tour relaxing at Arpoador peninsula, a beach that boasts one of the best views of Rio’s beaches and coastline.

This is a half day private tour.

DAY 9: RIO DE JANEIRO

Free day to relax and enjoy your own explorations.

Transfer in private vehicle to the airport.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Brazil!
Do you like this itinerary? Request a free customized itinerary proposal designed by our travel experts now!

Close day-by-day itinerary